Annual Business Hall of Fame Banquet

The Columbus Area Business Hall of Fame will this year induct its 12th class of honorees on November 21st.  The Chamber is proud to announce the 2017 class of inductees:  Marie Froemel, Charles Wurdeman, and Robert Loshbaugh.

Marie Froemel worked alongside her father in the family-owned jewelry store, Froemel Jewelry, which she later took over as manager.

Mrs. Froemel contributed to the community, donating significant sums of money to the United Way, Columbus Public Library, her Church, and numerous other organizations without wanting any recognition.

Charles Wurdeman was an architect and builder in Columbus.  He was a pioneer in his field creating his own form of reinforced concrete.

Wurdeman was involved in the Platte County Courthouse, St. Bonaventure’s expansion, Pawnee Park stadium, and Evans House to name a few.

Robert Loshbaugh was a diverse businessman in Columbus.  He expanded the Columbus Sales Pavilion into the national scene through marketing and traveling to increase sales.  He was critical in the investment, concept, and development of two hotels in Columbus.  Bob was involved in the development of Christopher’s Cove and was also on the Board of Directors for First National Bank.

The chamber will also be giving out the Ovation Award (is given to women who demonstrate support of the goals of professional women and provide unselfish assistance on their behalf), the Archway Award (is given to those who demonstrate excellence in business or profession, exhibit initiative and creativity enhancing the efficiency of business or profession and to the community, and exhibit initiative and creativity promoting area economic development), as well as the Charles Farnham Volunteer of the Year Award (is given annually  to a nominee for providing valuable service to the community, exhibiting initiative and creativity in providing this service, specifically providing service outside of job responsibilities, and significantly impacting the region and its residents).  These winners have yet to be announced.

Congratulations to the families of these business pioneers!

Learn More